Direct Rent and Mortgage Relief, Eviction Moratorium, and Housing Access Vouchers

On December 7, 2020, DID membership approved a Resolution in Support of Direct Rent and Mortgage Relief, an Eviction Moratorium, and Housing Access Vouchers.

Read the Resolution

The following letter was included with the resolution:

Hon. Yuh-Line Niou
NY State Assembly

Hon. Deborah J. Glick
NY State Assembly

Hon. Brian Kavanagh
NY State Senator

Hon. Brad Hoylman
NY State Senator

Hon. Carl Heastie
NYS Assembly Speaker

Hon. Andrea Stewart-Cousins
NYS Senate Leader

Dear Assembly Members Niou and Glick, Senators Kavanagh and Hoylman, Speaker Heastie, and Senate Leader Stewart-Cousins:

Enclosed please find a Resolution approved by Downtown Independent Democrats General Membership on DATE:

Resolution in Support of Direct Rent and Mortgage Relief, an Eviction Moratorium, and Housing Access Vouchers

New York City is facing an unprecedented crisis from the COVID-19 pandemic, and the biggest  burden falls on low-income New Yorkers, with disparate impact across categories of race and class. Our constituents need direct rent and mortgage relief now, and we need our State delegation to step up and demand adequate funding. We need this to be priority number one, building off the work that Salazar and Niou have done with bills S08802 and A10826.

In addition, we need you to adopt Myrie and Reyes's bills S08667 and A10827 to extend the eviction moratorium and extend for 1 year after the end of the emergency, and Kavanagh and Cymbrowitz's bills S7628A and A9657A to provide Housing Access Vouchers for unhoused people. These bills are important but do not go far enough. We need you to improve protections for renters from eviction, and to strengthen protection for unhoused people. 


Richard Corman

President, Downtown Independent Democrats


cc: Hon. Bill de Blasio, Mayor of New York City
Hon. Gail Brewer, Manhattan Borough President
Hon. Corey Johnson, NYC Council Speaker
Hon. Margaret Chin, NYC Council Member
Hon. Carlina Rivera, NYC Council Member
Hon. Scott M. Stringer, NYC Comptroller
Hon. Jumaane Williams, NYC Public Advocate

Hon. Andrew Cuomo, NYS Governor
Hon. Carolyn Maloney, U.S. Representative
Hon. Jerrold L. Nadler, U.S. Representative
Hon. Nydia Velázquez, U.S. Representative
Hon. Chuck Schumer, U.S. Senator
Hon. Kirsten Gillibrand, U.S. Senator

Read the Resolution