Pause and Revise the City’s Plan for SoHo/NoHo

On December 7, 2020, DID membership approved a Resolution to Pause and Revise the City’s Plan for SoHo/NoHo.

Read the Resolution

The following letter was included with the resolution:

Hon. Bill de Blasio
Mayor of New York City

Hon. Gale Brewer
Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Carlina Rivera
NYC Council Member

Hon. Corey Johnson
NYC Council Speaker

Hon. Margaret Chin
NYC Council Member


Dear Mayor de Blasio, Borough President Brewer, and Council Members Chin and Rivera,

Enclosed please find a Resolution approved by Downtown Independent Democrats General Membership on December 7, 2020:

Resolution to Pause and Revise the City’s Plan for SoHo/NoHo

The City’s current plan creates significant value for current property owners, and incentivizes office development and big-box retail instead of adaptive reuse, new affordable housing and the preservation of the significant stock of affordable housing.

DID urges the City to complete promised studies and additional analysis after the pandemic state of emergency has lifted and to develop a plan that: 

  • Maintains the integrity of the impacted Historic Districts,
  • Guarantees greater opportunities for affordable housing,
  • Addresses displacement,
  • Includes zoning that allows office to residential conversion and does not incentivize office and dormitory over residential use or big-box retail over small business,
  • Defines clear “mechanisms” to legalize existing residential occupancies incorporating public review and input, and,
  • Presents an economic analysis of the upzoning and how the Plan will impact transferable development rights.


Richard Corman

President, Downtown Independent Democrats


cc: Hon. Chuck Schumer, U.S. Senator
Hon. Kirsten Gillibrand, U.S. Senator
Hon. Carolyn Maloney, U.S. Representative
Hon. Jerrold L. Nadler, U.S. Representative
Hon. Nydia Velázquez, U.S. Representative
Hon. Andrew Cuomo, NYS Governor
Hon. Andrea Stewart-Cousins, NYS Sen. Leader
Hon. Carl Heastie, NYS Assembly Speaker

Hon. Brad Hoylman, NY State Senator
Hon. Brian Kavanagh, NY State Senator
Hon. Harvey Epstein, NY State Assembly
Hon. Deborah J. Glick, NY State Assembly
Hon. Yuh-Line Niou, NY State Assembly
Hon. Scott M. Stringer, NYC Comptroller
Hon. Jumaane Williams, NYC Public Advocate
Carter Booth, Chair, Manhattan Community Board 2

Read the Resolution