Resolution in Support of Racial Justice Laws

In May 2021, DID membership voted in support of Federal and New York State racial justice laws.

Read the resolution:

The following letter was included with the resolution:

May 26, 2021

Hon. Charles Schumer U.S. Senator
Hon. Jerrold L. Nadler U.S. Representative
Hon. Brad Hoylman NY State Senator
Hon. Yuh-Line Niou NY State Assembly

Hon. Kirsten Gillibrand U.S. Senator
Hon. Nydia Velázquez U.S. Representative
Hon. Brian Kavanagh NY State Senator

Hon. Harvey Epstein, NY State Assembly
Hon. Deborah J. Glick NY State Assembly

Dear Senator Charles Schumer, Kirsten Gillibrand, Carolyn Maloney, Jerrold L. Nadler, Representative Nydia Velázquez, Harvey Epstein,  Brad Hoylman, Brian Kavanagh, Deborah J. Glick, Yuh-Line Niou,

Enclosed please find a Resolution approved by Downtown Independent Democrats General Membership on May 26, 2021:

As we commemorate the one-year anniversaries of the killings of George Floyd and Breonna Taylor, the mass protests against police brutality and racism in the United States, and the passing of Representative John Lewis, we urge our elected officials to fight for the passage of several key pieces of legislation that would protect the rights, voices, and lives of Black Americans, minorities, and all Americans facing discriminatory policing practices and barriers to equal participation in our democracy. 

  • The George Floyd Justice in Policing Act (H.R.1280)
  • Legislation to limit the use of no-knock warrants and forcible police entries (NYS: S11 and A2683)
  • The John Lewis Voting Rights Advancement Act (H.R.4) and the For the People Act (H.R.1 and S.1)


Richard Corman
President, Downtown Independent Democrats


cc: Hon. Jumaane Williams, NYC Public Advocate
Hon. Scott Stringer, NYC Comptroller
Hon. Charles Schumer, U.S. Senator
Hon. Kirsten Gillibrand, U.S. Senator
Hon. Carolyn Maloney, U.S. Representative
Hon. Jerrold L. Nadler, U.S. Representative
Hon. Nydia Velázquez, U.S. Representative
Hon. Andrew Cuomo, NYS Governor
Hon. Andrea Stewart-Cousins, NYS Sen. Leader

Hon. Carl Heastie, NYS Assembly Speaker
Hon. Brad Hoylman, NY State Senator
Hon. Brian Kavanagh, NY State Senator
Hon. Harvey Epstein, NY State Assembly
Hon. Deborah J. Glick, NY State Assembly
Hon. Yuh-Line Niou, NY State Assembly
Tammy Meltzer, Chair, Manhattan Community Board 1
Jeannine Kiely, Chair, Manhattan Community Board 2
Alysha Lewis-Coleman, Chair, Manhattan Community 3


Resolution in Support of Federal and New York State Racial Justice Laws