Forgive Student-Loan Debt

On March 23, 2022, DID members passed a Resolution calling for President Biden to hold to his campaign promise on student-loan debt forgiveness.

Read the Resolution

March 23, 2021

Hon. Joseph Biden
President of the United States

Hon. Charles Schumer
U.S. Senate Majority Leader

Hon. Kirsten Gillibrand
U.S. Senator

Hon. Jerrold Nadler
U.S. Representative

Hon. Carolyn Maloney
U.S. Representative

Hon. Nydia Velázquez
U.S. Representative

Dear Pres. Biden, Sens. Schumer and Gillibrand, and Hon. Nadler, Maloney, and Velázquez:

Enclosed please find a Resolution approved by Downtown Independent Democrats General Membership on March  23, 2022:

Forgive Student-Loan Debt

President Biden promised to forgive a sizable portion of student-loan debt, but his administration has reneged on this campaign promise. Lower Manhattan constituents are in massive debt from college and trade school, and need loan forgiveness immediately.

DID demands that President Biden hold to his promise, and forgive $10,000 of student debt relief for college and trade-school students. DID also demands for Congress to make public colleges, universities, and trade schools free for all, eliminating the problem of student-loan debt for good.

We cannot build wealth for Wall Street on the backs of our young people. Forgive their student-loan debt now.


Richard Corman
President, Downtown Independent Democrats


cc: Hon. Eric Adams, NYC Mayor
Hon. Christopher Marte, NYC Council Member
Hon. Carlina Rivera, NYC Council Member
Hon. Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Hon. Jumaane Williams, NYC Public Advocate
Hon. Brad Lander, NYC Comptroller
Hon. Alvin Bragg, Manhattan District Attorney
Hon. Kathy Hochul, NYS Governor
Hon. Andrea Stewart-Cousins, NYS Sen. Leader

Hon. Carl Heastie, NYS Assembly Speaker
Hon. Brad Hoylman, NY State Senator
Hon. Brian Kavanagh, NY State Senator
Hon. Harvey Epstein, NY State Assembly
Hon. Deborah J. Glick, NY State Assembly
Hon. Yuh-Line Niou, NY State Assembly
Tammy Meltzer, Chair, Man. Community Board 1
Jeannine Kiely, Chair, Man. Community Board 2
Paul Rangel, Chair, Man. Community 3